إيلي أعرج

Elie Aaraj

الاستاذ إيلي أعرج

يعمل إيلي أعرج في مجال فيروس نقص المناعة البشري/الإيدز والحدّ من مخاطر استخدام المخدّرات منذ العام 1987 حين أسّس منظمة لبنانيّة محليّة "جمعيّة العناية الصحيّة" والتي بدأت في برنامج تمريض منزلي خلال الحرب الأهليّة وتوسّعت لتعمل على مشاريع فيروس نقص المناعة البشري/الإيدز والمخدّرات خلال السنوات التالية.

أكمل السيّد أعرج شهادة ماجستر في صحة المجتمع من جامعة القديس يوسف، لبنان بعد أن نال إجازة في التمريض من الجامعة اللبنانيّة عام 1982. وبعد أن تأهّل كممرّض، عمل في مستشفيين في لبنان قبل أن يصبح مدير الكليّة التقنيّة للتمريض في مستشفى الحايك، بيروت، وهو منصب بقي فيه مدّة سنتين ثمّ أسّس جمعيّة العناية الصحيّة.

عام 2007، أصبح السيّد أعرج أحد مؤسّسي شبكة مينارة وهو مديرها التنفيذي منذ ذلك الحين. كما أنّه الرئيس الحالي للشبكة الإقليميّة/العربيّة لمكافحة الإيدز (الرانا).

إضافةً إلى وظيفته، يقوم السيّد أعرج بالعديد من النشاطات المهنيّة الأخرى والتي تركّز معظمها على الوقاية من سوء استخدام المخدّرات والحدّ من مخاطر استخدامها وفيروس نقص المناعة البشري/الإيدز. كما أنّه نشر ثلاثة بحوث كبيرة حول استخدام المخدّرات والوقاية منها بين الأشخاص، إضافةً إلى موارد متعدّدة للممارسين في هذا المجال.

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER

Elie Aaraj

Elie AarajElie Aaraj has been working in the field of HIV/AIDS and harm reduction since 1987, when he founded local Lebanese organisation “Soins Infirmiers et Développement Communautaire,” which began with an in-home nursing programme during the civil war, and expanded to work on HIV/AIDS and drugs projects within the following years.

Mr. Aaraj completed his Master’s degree in Community Health at the Saint Joseph University, Lebanon, after having received a License in Nursing at the Lebanese University in 1982. Having qualified as a nurse, he worked in two hospitals in Lebanon, before becoming the Director of the Nurse-Aid Technical School at Hayek Hospital, Beirut, a post which he held for two years, then founded SIDC.

In 2007, Mr. Aaraj became one of the founders of the MENAHRA network, and has been its executive director since. He is also the current President of the Regional/Arab Network Against AIDS (RANAA).
Alongside his employment, Mr. Aaraj undertakes many other professional activities, many focusing on the prevention of substance misuse, harm reduction and HIV/AIDS. He has also published three major pieces of research on drug use and prevention among others, as well as numerous resources for practitioners in this field.

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER